Due to COVID-19, we will be conducting all consultations either via video chat, phone, or email. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any questions!

Fourteen European Nations Agree to Divorce Law Deal

In a recent AFP report, fourteen European countries have signed an agreement which declares that couples of different nationalities can choose which set of laws apply to their divorce.   Supports of the agreement hope this will clamp down on 'divorce shopping' and also reduce attorney fees and court costs as the rules for the family law cases are set beforehand.

Family law scholars believe this sets a valuable precedent for nations in Europe to reach similar agreements in other areas of the law in the future.  This is the first agreement of this kind since the Euro was introduced.

The full list of participants is Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia and Spain.